Homecoming 2 : Electric Boogaloo

Generally coming home means eating my way through my best memories of Montreal. There’s a handful of must-chomps for every visit, but no visit would be complete without a trip to Cafe Santropol.

I’ve been coming to this restaurant ever since whatever year Baz Lurman’s Romeo + Juliet came out; back in the day it was my defacto first date restaurant. They specialize in bizarre sounding ENORMOUS sandwiches on delicious homemade bread, yummy house blend teas, and a quintessential Montreal atmosphere… part french, part hippie, part circus, part punk, part chic. The resto in an old house has a beautiful shady back patio in the summer just down the street from the mountain and sun-drenched rooms year round, and consistently cute staff. My sandwiches of choice…

The Killer Tomato: Creme Cheese, Sun-Dried Tomato, Basil and Garlic Spread, Topped with Fresh Tomatoes. YUM.

or

THE Santropol: Sliced Roast Beef on Blue Cheese & Cream Cheese Spread

Not ideal for my lactos-free friends (sorry Laura!) but good. And did I mention HUGE? But, alas, I’m not really doing them justice, am I? Iphone  photos of sandwiches, what was I thinking?! These probably don’t even look like food… I need a real person camera.

***

A beautiful day here, perfect for walking around the plateau with my ladies (and Kev), stopping for a latte and a chat, and catching up with an old and dear friend at one of my other Montreal must-hits, Moe’s (aka Casse-Croute du Coin). I have nice friends.

One thought on “Homecoming 2 : Electric Boogaloo

  1. I have actually eaten at cafe santropol a few times… delicious. Your recent blog posts make me want to go to Montreal and eat.

Leave a Reply

